thoughts on Peru

I just came home from the most amazing trip of my life.

I honestly don’t know how to process what I’ve seen on my trip to Peru for Compassion International. I’ve met some of the most amazing people, living lives of true poverty. While at the same time they are some of the happiest people I have ever met in my entire life. I’ve seen people who have grown up in Compassion programs and have committed their lives to serving their community in the same way. I’ve met children who are completely and totally happy with what they have, and it’s not much, Simply because someone cared enough to send a small amount of money to feed them, clothe them, and give them an education so that they can one day make a better life for themselves and their family. I’ve met women who selflessly devote their lives to volunteering 10 hour days 3 days a week making lunches or teaching children. I’ve heard volunteers say they do what they do because they love the Lord, saw a need, and wanted to serve. I’ve seen an amazing side of my best friends as they poor their hearts out to children they don’t even know and can’t understand without a translator. I’ve felt tears welling up in my eyes as a mother tells me how she wishes Gods blessings on my life because now she can feed and clothe and teach her baby how to do the things we take for granted, and I did nothing directly for her. I’ve walked a mile up a dirty foothill, in a dirty town, following a family to their first home, a 15×15 tin roofed, tarp walled hut where all 5 of them live. I’ve returned to the states to have the first person I meet yell at our group for blocking a pedestrian lane for all of 60 seconds to unload luggage. I’ve seen poverty of finances, of quality of life, and also poverty of spirit, and it’s surprising where each of these poverties lie on the map of the world.

A piece of my heart has been left in Peru and the faces have been burned in my mind. I pray I never forget all I’ve seen and God shows me ways that I can make a difference.

A place of hope

kids.jpg

mi-amigo-marco.jpg

from-roof.jpg

schoolyard.jpg

saying-goodbye.jpg

One Response to “thoughts on Peru”

  1. Chris Says:

    Thank you for sharing

Leave a Reply

