Moving On

Lately I have been thinking, and rethinking, and thinking again about what God’s purpose for Tracy and I is.  We have begun to change our perspective on what it means to be a Christian and what actually living a life according to Jesus’ teaching really looks like. I have also realized that we have not relied on the Word of God as the authority to guide us in our decisions. Instead, a lot of times, we have relied on other peoples perspective on our situations to determine what “God” wants us to do. I do value peoples opinions, and I do think that God uses people to speak into our lives, a lot of times this is a pastor. I think that I have personally relied too much on the counseling of a pastor alone in my life to make decisions rather than take what he has said and tested it against scripture and what God is doing in my own heart.

I don’t think it’s fair for me to put a pastor on a pedestal like that.  Not fair to him and not fair to me. I think a good pastors opinion is a very valuable thing, but when we take that opinion as the ultimate authority on our situations it’s dangerous.  I believe Tracy and I purchased our house on the counseling of men and took that as the counseling of God, and I believe we were wrong.  That is NOT the fault of our counselors, that is our own fault. Looking back at decisions we’ve made and how we’ve felt about them afterwards, makes it clear that we are hearing God’s counseling in our decisions, we are just not trusting the urging as God talking to us and we are relying on what people have to say. Maybe it’s me thinking I’m not someone worthy for God to talk to and I should look to people who are more worthy of hearing Gods voice. All I know now is that I am a child of God, and God wants to, and does, talk to his children. Jesus suffered on a cross so that ALL can come to the Father. I am belittling what Jesus has done by relying solely on what others in what I wrongly view as “higher spiritual positions” have to say about my life.  Tracy and I will move on from here and follow Gods leading on what to do now, welcoming the counseling of others we respect, but using the Word of God and how we feel Him leading our hearts as the final authority.

I can honestly say that I’ve felt both sides of the judgment coin lately in this area of my life.  People looking at our prior living conditions or the crappy car we drive and making judgments, and also people looking at our current living conditions and judging us as unfeeling materialists living above our means.  Frankly, I don’t care what you think of me.  I’m not perfect and I haven’t met anyone else who is.  I only care to please God and do with my life what he would have me to the best of my ability.  Don’t know why I rambled on about that but, there it is.

One Response to “Moving On”

  1. Tamara Cosby Says:

    I can so relate to this. This is where my heart is taking me as well and I see it working in Jesse also. It’s good stuff, this rambling.

Leave a Reply

