Sarcasm is the enemy of intimacy

Pastor Jamie said that this morning and it rang out to me like a bell.  I think sometimes I tend to be a bit sarcastic (ok maybe a lot) to the people I love.  I’m not trying to be mean, just a reaction I have, probably from my yankee roots, hehe.  But I know when the sarcasm is shot in my direction it does something to me, makes me feel low, and angry.  Although I try not to show it, I laugh it off.  It hurts, even when it was not meant to.  I think I should be more aware of how this affects the people it’s directed to.  There’s a separation that happens, a definite killing of intimacy between people when this exchange is made.  I don’t want something as stupid as a sarcastic remark for the sake of a laugh to tear apart the community that God has put me in with others.  I know I can’t change overnight, but God help me to be more conscious of my words.

One Response to “Sarcasm is the enemy of intimacy”

  1. Susan Says:

    I know the pain I’ve lived with this trait and am trying to get out of the habit. I don’t think its a Yankee trait, just a trait that a human can have. Sorry if it came from me.
    Mom

Leave a Reply

